Top 10 reasons to celebrate my Birthday!!

Embed from Getty Images

I woke up this morning to text messages and FB posts all wishing me  a wonderful birthday. And it got me thinking. What am I celebrating today? I don’t really need a reason to celebrate. Its my birthday that’s reason enough. But since I am in a reflective mood I wanted to give it some thought and see what I come up with.

1. Love

I am grateful for the love of my family and friends. But personally I think  I am ready to love people for who they are and not what they can do for me. Through my volunteering activities I have seen how my affection has changed total strangers. And I realized what loving someone really means. In my personal relationships I always expected something in return. Volunteering has taught me to be selfless and has changed my view on love.

2. Wisdom

I understand that whatever happens in my life, good or bad, its all for me. It was supposed to be that way so I can be the person I am today.  I think this quote by Eleanor Roosevelt sums it up “People grow through experience if they meet life honestly and courageously. This is how character is built.”

3. My journey

I started my journey 37 years ago on this day. Looking back its been a rough one. And while I was busy living my life and getting over my problems, I didn’t realize but others were watching me as it coped with it all and getting inspired!! I am often humbled when my friends or family tell me they made it through because they thought of me. So today I celebrate not only my journey but also of those people that have become part of it and have been walking with me all along.

4. Living Life

My willingness to say, “YES” to life as it unfolds and presents me with opportunities to experience it.Few years ago, I was shy and insecure about talking to people. But my circumstances put me in a situation where I had no choice but to learn to communicate with others and be comfortable with being me. From a shy person to becoming an extremely outgoing and friendly person, that’s quiet a transformation worth celebrating!

5. Confidence

I am seasoned player now … ha ha… I feel the quiet assurance in my heart that challenges come and go but all is well and will be well.

6. Good times

Opportunity to celebrate with family, friends and co-workers :)-

7. Being grateful

I am very grateful for a lot of things. If I start  thinking about them I will probably feel overwhelmed and get emotional

8. Today is all I have

I don’t know what tomorrow holds. I would like to celebrate the present moment and not think about what my life is going to be like 5 years from now. Its good to have goals and work towards them. But I don’t want to focus too much on it. I am willing to accept things as they come

9. Opportunity to live and love

I am very thankful to God for giving me all these years to live and love people :)-

10. Charity

I have requested my friends to donate to a cause close to my heart instead of spending on food, drinks and gifts for me. So I celebrate the goodness of all our hearts and the spirit of giving for a great cause :)-

I would love to hear from you and learn about your top 3 reasons to celebrate your birthday!

©2014, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

2 thoughts on “Top 10 reasons to celebrate my Birthday!!

  1. Happy, Happy Birthday to a wonderful, precious, carefully crafted, perfectly made Vani! When God made you, He made you perfectly, and He loves you so much! I am very honored to know you, Vani, and I thank you for being a special person in my life. You radiate so much Grace and Poise, and endless talents! You shine so bright 😀 I hope that you know today and always, how special you are!! The world is a better place for having you in it, dear Vani 🙂

    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday to you,
    Happy Birthday dear Vani,
    Happy Birthday to youuuuuuu!!

    God Bless and Keep you Vani,

    ❤ Nikki

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

