What’s important to you?

A friend of mine asked me this question a few weeks ago. And I said “peace of mind”. And she was quiet surprised by my response.I am at a point in my life where nothing else matters but having peace of mind. I will do anything to have that peace in my heart for the rest of my life. I remember telling a friend months ago “, there has to be a better way of dealing with life. This can’t be it. I am tired of going around in circles. I refuse to believe that this is it” And that started a journey that lead to meditation class, Art of living class, deep reflection, lots of reading, changing my priorities and an overall change in my lifestyle. I was already heading in this direction for a year now but I started taking affirmative action few months ago and then slowly while I was busy doing all this on the outside, I started to change  on the inside.

I didn’t realize it at first but I started noticing when others told me I was much calmer, seemed more relaxed and joyous. I was writing more often, my work got published, I had more energy to do lot of activities, I was doing more charity work and I hadn’t felt downcast in the longest time. And that’s when it dawned on me that I was becoming aware of and experiencing “the peace of God that is in me.” Now whenever I have a negative thought or emotion I find myself letting go of it quickly. I feel the pain but I don’t hang on to it. It is a conscious choice of constantly reminding myself of what’s important to me and when I hear the answer loud and clear it’s easy to let go of everything that will keep me from accomplishing it.

©2014, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

One thought on “What’s important to you?

Leave a Reply

