Your subtle ways

20150814_133105

Not until I felt your sunshine did I realize that I had been in the shade- Suzy Kassem

This poem is dedicated to my loving husband Deepak 🙂

I am off as usual fussing over things

You look at me, smile gently and say

” Its alright, just be with me now, those things can wait.”

Sunday morning I put on my favorite music

I was lost in the words when I felt you take my hand

Surprised I looked up and before I knew it

I was already swaying and dancing to the music

A startled look , a nervous giggle

Your eyes held my gaze, your steps gently guided mine

Your smile and soft voice calmed me down.

I once asked you your favorite song

You surprised me again by spontaneously singing it out loud

A big smile on your face, your gaze set on my face

Your beautiful voice held me in awe, the words tugged at my heart

Tears of joy were streaming down my face

As I listened to your sweet serenade.

How can I forget the time when on a cold windy night

I sent you off to run an errand

Anxious for your quick return I kept pacing the floor

Waiting to hear your footsteps and the familiar sound of keys by the door

But you showed up with a twinkle in your eye, a big smile and a bunch of beautiful yellow flowers

Surprised and speechless I just stared

“These are for you”, you said.

I didn’t know what I was missing

Until you showed me in so many ways

Precious memories sweet nothings

My love I love your subtle ways

©2015, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

