Loving eyes

I wake up every morning to your beautiful smile

And catch you looking at me with loving eyes

“You are so beautiful” is the first thing you say

And I just smile wondering if that really is the case

On a Sunday afternoon I am home cleaning and mopping

Tired and sweaty looking disheveled.

You come home and  look at me

“You are so beautiful” is the first thing you say

I start complaining about how terrible I must look

Embarrassed and almost apologizing for my appearance as we hug

Still holding me in your  arms you gently remind me

“I said you are beautiful”

Tears welled up in my eyes when I realized

What you were looking at as you held me tight

Never have I felt so loved my dear

Until you came along with loving eyes

That see the beauty of my soul.

©2015, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Loving eyes

Leave a Reply

