Its a wild wild thing

Imaginations

I never made one of my discoveries through the process of rational thinking- Albert Einstein

Recently I have had much free time on hand. Well I got a few things to do but nothing pressing. So on a cold  afternoon I was mindlessly looking up stuff on the internet and kept following some links. I accidentally came across a website that allowed people to make their own designs or just upload pictures , slap them onto various products and sell them online for a percentage in royalties. A different time and age and I would have balked at the idea of me creating stuff.

But as I was staring at the screen I looked up at the clock and sighed. With many more hours to go before my hubby got home I thought alright lets do this. So I started checking out different products, testing my ideas and creating designs to put on products! Before I knew it I lost track of time, had created quiet a few products and enjoyed it. Quiet frankly I am no expert in art or design. I am a tax accountant. To the outside world its the most boring job. But to me its my world and I love it. So creativity and taxes, completely different worlds.

But  when I was sitting there looking at the different opportunities to express myself I realized I was not thinking as an accountant or an expert in designing. I was just allowing myself to be.No judgment at all, just being and creating, letting the ideas flow and putting them down on stuff as quickly as they popped into my head. Over the next 2-3 days I went wild with my ideas and started creating more. I wasn’t worried about if people liked it or not I was just doing it for fun and loved it. Now when I look at all my designs I can’t believe I made them. Its like when I didn’t  thinking logically or rationally is when I created some really good designs.

So my friends when you get an opportunity to be creative don’t allow your mind to rationalize and talk you out of it. It will rob you of some of the most blissful creative experiences. Imagination is the most beautiful thing God gave you. Get started and soon enough inspiration will strike you. Once it does, it will take you on a wild journey through creative realms of your mind where imagination reigns supreme. There is much beauty, bliss  and healing in that place. So don’t be afraid or hesitate to get creative and to go wild with it!

©2016, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

Leave a Reply

