Experiencing the fullness of Life

Gratitude

“When we focus on our gratitude, the tide of disappointment goes out and the tide of love rushes in”- Kristin Armstrong

I was on my way to the DMV last Thursday. It was very cold outside and I was making my way to the bus stop. As I turned the corner I heard the bus halt at the red light. The bus stop was a block away and so I started running as I didn’t want to wait too long outside in the mid 20’s (Fahrenheit) temperature. But the bus got there before me.I was running cautiously to avoid slipping on melting snow so I didn’t notice at first but when I looked up, as I got closer, I saw a very old lady with a kind face (who had just gotten off the bus) signal to the driver to stop and wait for me. I thanked her and the driver and was very grateful to be on the bus. When I got to the DMV these instances of assistance from strangers continued and I was out in about two hours my work completed much to the surprise of my husband who had been worrying about it all along.

I wondered if it was a coincidence or did everything go well because I stepped out with a feeling of gratitude in my heart and so was attracting more instances to be grateful for? I don’t know the exact answer. I believe it was a combination of everything. So I decided to keep an eye out for any other recurrences. These past few days I found many reasons to be grateful for and have been touched by  positive developments in my personal life, much kindness, warmth and friendliness from new folks I met and have had many  instances to be thankful for. Yes I have had moments of self doubt, uncertainty and even some hurt but I am learning to catch myself before my thoughts turn sour and focus on all things to be grateful for whether big or small. I have realized that when I am in a mindset of gratitude I feel love in my heart, I feel I am surrounded by love where ever I am (either with friends, family, nature, or just praying alone) and nothing but more love and goodness is coming  my way if I am willing to receive it. I  seem to be unwilling to be tempted by anger, stress or anxiety. They seem a burden too heavy to carry and I am happily releasing them. I am sure they are going to come back and tempt me as long as I live but I intend to experience fullness of life with a heart full of gratitude and thanksgiving.

Gratitude bestows reverence, allowing us to encounter everyday epiphanies, those transcendent moments of awe that change forever how we experience life and the world-John Milton

©2016, Vani Murthy. All rights reserved

One thought on “Experiencing the fullness of Life

Leave a Reply

